Notices
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Limited-time trials...

  1. #1 Limited-time trials... 
    Moderator Moderator AlexP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,838
    How does a limited-time trial version of a software know when the time has elapsed, even after un- and re- installing it? I don't know too much about computers, but I don't see how it can know after it's been uninstalled...


    "There is a kind of lazy pleasure in useless and out-of-the-way erudition." -Jorge Luis Borges
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2.  
     

  3. #2  
    Administrator KALSTER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    8,245
    The simple answer is that a record of the installation date is kept, even after uninstalling the trial software. When the software is installed it automatically looks for the existence of such a record and stops the installation if it finds it or reverts to the expired screen after re-install. What works sometimes with programs you can permanently activate by purchasing a key, is choosing a different install directory to the default one. Or you can look for a key online...


    Disclaimer: I do not declare myself to be an expert on ANY subject. If I state something as fact that is obviously wrong, please don't hesitate to correct me. I welcome such corrections in an attempt to be as truthful and accurate as possible.

    "Gullibility kills" - Carl Sagan
    "All people know the same truth. Our lives consist of how we chose to distort it." - Harry Block
    "It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." - Aristotle
    Reply With Quote  
     

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •